The Eclectic Kat

handmade with a smile

Vibrating color combo

I’ve been taken with repurposing, upcycling, my old t-shirts.  I’ve looked at designs for making them into other shirt styles, aprons, and pillows, but I fell in love with the idea of transforming them into bags.  The fabric is soft, comes in so many different colors, and often with a fun graphic that I want to save.  After trying it out with one of my favorite, but too small, tee’s I was hooked.  Not only did I like it, but I received several compliments from complete strangers, folks who said they’d been looking for a bag like the one I’d made.  So, I knew I’d done something right.  Now, I have quite a few old tees I’m never going to wear again, but only enough for maybe three or four bags, and often of colors I’d prefer not to combine.  Off to Goodwill I went.

As I looked through the t-shirts, I was first looking for color, graphic, and lack of stains.  You know how it is at second hand shops, it looks great when just glancing at it, but once you get it home you notice that stain, hole, or ripped seams.  While looking for suitable shirts I wasn’t focused on matching everything I was picking out to go together, but something I could work with.  Then I found this Silver Streaks graphic red t-shirt, such a great color of red, fully saturated, large, in very good condition, and when I put it next to this royal blue shirt I’d just picked up, they vibrated.  I knew these two shirt had to be used together.

I love the red & blue color combo, the vibrating color scheme.  Thankfully I happened to have a silver fabric remnant that just happened to match the graphic on the front.  Total happy surprise there.  Everything came together for this shoulder tote and I’m very please with how it turned out.  Now to the next one!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 2, 2012 by in Up-Cycled and tagged , , .
